Thanks to the passage of GA HB 283, signed into law yesterday, homeschoolers no longer have to report annual attendance to the Georgia Department of Education. What this means for you as a homeschooler:
-- You must file an annual declaration of intent to homeschool with the Georgia Department of Education by September 1 or within 30 days of starting your homeschool program.
-- Your homeschool program should include at least 4.5 hours of instruction a day, 180 days in your school year. You DO NOT have to report any attendance information.
-- Your Declaration of Intent confirmation is all you need to get a driver's license, work permit, or other official form. If you have problems, contact Patrick Blenke (firstname.lastname@example.org; 404-656-2093) Shea Carter at 678-413-8602 at the Department of Education.
-- Your student must take a standardized test through an "appropriate nationally standardized testing program" every three years, starting in third grade. You DO NOT have to submit the records of this testing to anyone.
According to Joyce Kelly, with the Department of Education, parents DO NOT need to file attendance for the 2012-2013 school year now that the bill has been signed into law.
According to Patrick Blenke at the Department of Education, you MUST file a 2012-2013 attendance report if your school year ends before July 1, 2013 (as indicated on your Declaration of Intent). If your homeschool year ends after July 1, 2013, you SHOULD NOT file an attendance report. But there seems to be some confusion at the DOE about when this law goes into effect, so that may change. I personally am going to go ahead and file my 2012-2013 attendance just to be on the safe side.